Webcomic Spotlight Vol. 1 Vinnie the Vampire

2011-09-07-comicintro 2011-09-15-vampasunny 2011-09-17-belfryintro 2011-09-27-bobintro 2011-10-02-xtra

We have a new segment here on the Root Beer Party site True Believers, where we spotlight great web comics and help to introduce them to the world.  Since it is October the haunting month I think it is fitting to highlight one of the best comics as the subject of our inaugural spotlight.  Let’s start it off with none other than Vinnie the Vampire by Tim Green.

You can read this strip by visiting his site here: http://www.vinniethevampire.com/ and even buy Vinnie the Vampire Vol. 1 here on Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Let-Bloodbath-Begin-Vampire-Collection/dp/1500497886/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1418520533&sr=1-1&keywords=let+the+bloodbath+begin&pebp=1418520523694

Tim green sums up his work right on his site, an excerpt of it is here:

“The idea for Vinnie the Vampire came to me in late 1993. I created the “Vinnie”, “Sunny” and “Mom” characters then and a loose idea for the comic setting. I wanted to do a family of suburban vampires but I realized I’d have to bend vampire rules a little to get there. My vampires age but at a much slower rate than humans, about one for every ten. For example if Vampa is 900 he is about 90 in human years. I really didn’t have a dad growing up so I never felt inspired to create a dad for the family. Eventually, the comic was placed in the bowels of my “idea coffin” and left to lie for years. A few times I found the comic and thought “Ya know, I like this idea, I should develop it further.” Then once again it would go into the “idea coffin” for some additional years. In the latter part of 2011 I came across the characters and decided I would give this comic a shot. Vampa was created pretty quickly after that and I began creating the early comics you can see today in my archives. I’ve always been a big fan of “Peanuts” and I thought I should develop a pet for Vinnie. A bat seemed like a cool choice and the rest is history for Belfry. Bob came to me after I was rolling pretty good with the comic ideas, I liked the thought of a non-vampiric character I could play ideas off of. I went online with the comic shortly after my birthday in July of 2011 when my family bought me the domain name “vinniethevampire.com . I’ve been going at it as hard as I could since then and the support and kindness of my friends and family has been overwhelming. I’m not sure where this comic will take me into the future but I can’t imagine my life without it. The characters feel like old friends that I lost touch with over the years and it feels so good to introduce you all to them. I hope you enjoy the comic as much as I do creating them. Thank you all.”

Vinnie is your typical teenager in suburbia trying to figure out life and make his way in the world, he is surrounded by his family, a omnipresent “mom” which never directly appears in the strip, but is the glue holding this dysfunctional family together.  There is his 900 year old “Vampa” who bullies Vinnie about life in the really old days and of course, his little sister “Sunny.”  What can you say about Sunny?  Homicidal tendencies must skip a generation.  She makes Vlad the Impaler look like Mr. Roger’s and her favorite target is none other than our lovable hero Vinnie.

Vinnie also has two pets, Belfry which is a vampire bat he saved after he ran into a tree and he has been a mooching houseguest ever since and of course we have Bob, who comes from a long line of dogs who serve and protect vampires.

One of the things I love about Vinnie is the little touches of suburban life that Tim Green brings to the strip, the little juice boxes of blood, how every vampire has their own favorite type of blood and you can’t help but love the youthful exuberance of Sunny and she does what vampires do best with such relish and innocents.  It is a hard thing to make a blood thirsty killer so adorable, but somehow Tim has done it.

Tim writes Vinnie the Vampire like most web comic cartoonists, in the precious moments he can steal away from life, It is not easy and in the past year he has had two hiatus’s where Vinnie rested in his idea’s coffin.  it is important that we support web comic artists that we like and show them the support that is so vital to their survival.  So check out the comic and if you enjoy the exploits of the Vinnie and his gang, then buy Tim’s book or donate a few dollars on the site.  He would do it for you, that’s just the kind of guy he is.

I’ll leave you with a few more highlights from Vinnie the Vampire below.  I highly recommend you check out this site and enjoy some of the best laughs this side of the grave.  Until next time True Believers, may your mug always be frosted and your root beer always foamy.

2011-12-26-newyearvampa 2011-12-28-newyears 2012-01-11-sesame 2012-01-27-salemslot

2012-02-08-100th 2012-07-04-hbvinnie

One thought on “Webcomic Spotlight Vol. 1 Vinnie the Vampire

Leave a Reply

