My 2 Cents, for what it’s worth: A great way to learn to draw comics (Part 2)

DSC04400 DSC04399 DSC04398 DSC04396 DSC04395 DSC04394 DSC04393 DSC04392 DSC04391 DSC04390 DSC04389 DSC04388 DSC04385 DSC04386

I have been busy this month with the #inktober challenge on twitter.  You are supposed to do one drawing a day for the entire month of October.   I’m sure the restrictions of the challenge had something to do with nib pens and such, but I take it to mean what I want it to mean and do what I want.  So basically it is just one drawing a day for a month.

As I mentioned before, the only way to learn to draw is to do it, and practice is everything, so an #inktober challenge is a great way to motivate yourself into keeping it up.  I have been doing several sketches with a Halloween style theme from the great mystery solver of the Scooby Doo gang to so funny takes on Jaws and The Great Pumpkin from Charlie Brown.

Once again I tried different things, like with the JabberJaws picture, it was done in acrylic and watercolor while most were just done with my usual Micron pen and Prismacolor markers.  The collage was done with classic ink and nibs, just a little existential humor to fill in the facial expressions and head design practice and keep myself interested.

I have found that one of the hardest thins to do in art is keep yourself interested in what you are doing.  Finding new challenges and keeping yourself moving forward is the real challenge of any artist.  I remember when I took up oil painting, I started with Bob Ross and he even commented on this topic frequently when he joked ” After awhile, the hard part becomes less abut how to paint and more about what to paint.”  It is the same with drawing.  The all important idea is the hardest part of keeping up with your practice.  Just staring off into space to come up with an idea, the secret, I found, is sometimes to just start drawing something, anything on the paper and somehow, it turns into something right before your eyes, like a magician’s conjuring trick.

I wish I could explain the magic behind art, I could make a fortune explaining it all away, but it makes you believe in something beyond yourself sometimes simply because there is no other answer for how some of these ideas come into being.

I hope this talk encourages you to pursue little challenges like #inktober or any of the millions of others out there and allow you to try something new and push yourself out of your comfort zone.  Until next time True Believers, may your mug always be frosted and your root beer always foamy.

Leave a Reply

