The 12 Days of Root Beer: Day 1

dads-020170

Thanks to the generous gift by Root Beer Party founding member and Co-President Kim Belding, I received a 12 pack sampler of root beers for the holidays.  I decided to try one every day and give my opinions on them.  The first root beer out of the case was Dad’s Old Fashioned Root Beer.  This is glass bottle version made with real sugar, not to be confused with the mass market one you can find with corn syrup and a slightly different recipe.  This is the original recipe version.

This version of Dad’s was quite smooth and had a very mild flavor, much more of a vanilla finish than of anything else.  The ingredients were well blended with nothing being overpowering, a good root beer, not great, but one you could definitely enjoy at a summer cookout.

I tend to lean towards the stronger flavored root beers myself and this one was a little weak for me, but still pleasant and enjoyable.  I wouldn’t go out of my way to get it and hunt down the special bottle and recipe produced by this one bottling plant, but as a one off, it is a decent root beer.  I would recommend it to someone who is only a casual drinker of root beer as it will not offend them in any way.  It is what you would expect a root beer to taste like with no surprises.  I would give it a 7 out of 10.

Tune in tomorrow True believers as try Chicago Draft Style Root Beer.  Until then, may your mug always be frosted and your root beer always foamy.

One thought on “The 12 Days of Root Beer: Day 1

Leave a Reply

