20 Questions with Comic Artist: Madeline Holly-Rosing of Boston Metaphysical Society

untitled

We are back once again True Believers, with our most popular segment here at The Root Beer Party.  It is time once again for 20 questions with comic artists.  Today we have the accomplished author of The Boston Metaphysical Society.  You can check it out here: http://bostonmetaphysicalsociety.com/

This is a continuity or graphic novel style comic set in a steampunk style universe.  Our heroes, the Boston Metaphysical Society, try to combat the evil of The Shifter, a man who can travel through space and time.

The comic has won multiple awards and is drawn by accomplished artists Emily Hu and colorists Gloria Caeli & Fahriza Kamaputra.  So lets get the low down from Madeline and welcome her to the Root Beer Party.

Question 1: What got you started in doing a comic series?
I originally wrote the comic as a TV Pilot when I was in the MFA Program in Screenwriting at UCLA. It was received well, but then several friends suggested I redevelop it as a comic for marketing reasons. I thought it was a good idea and took a sequential art class to learn how to write a comic. Lucky me! I discovered I loved indie comics.
Question 2: Who was your greatest influence?
Probably my classmates and instructor from the sequential art classes I took. (Nunzio DeFillippe, Christina Weir, Christina Strain, Han-Yee Ling, George Wassil, James Wright and Josh Henaman. And of course, Dave Elliot.)
Question 3: What is your favorite root beer and why?
Sorry, but I hate root beer.
(Shocked silence fills the room.  The tension is audible!)  
Question 4: What do you hope to accomplish with your comic?
The comic was originally designed to be a branding platform, but in the process I learned I loved writing comics!
Question 5: Do you have any other artistic interests outside of comics?
I can’t draw, but I used to play the flute in high school (jazz band and orchestra) and had a few piano and French Horn lessons. Does that count?

Tesla%20Panel

Question 12: Are collections of your work available beyond the web? If So where?

Yes, there a digital special editions on DriveThruComics. Those include the complete chapter plus 30+ pages of extras in a pdf format. I also have them in print which you can purchase from me either at a Con or through my storenvy website.
Ch.%206%20pg.%2013%20panel
Question 13: Are there any other web comic artists that you really admire?
Absolutely. For strip type cartoons I’d include, Zombie Boy, Lunarbaboon, Pirate Mike, Ninja and Pirate and Sunny side Up, of course. For long form, there are too many to mention.
Question 15: Do you have any advice for the Trolls out there who harass content creators? (no need to keep this answer clean.) 
I’ve never been trolled… yet. I imagine it’s just a matter of time. I suspect it’s because the comic is alternate history and most trolls don’t read that.  If I were harassed, how I respond would depend on what they did. At Cons, I’ve had guys try to flirt, but they never crossed the line into harassment. I imagine that’s because I’m white, a little older (and taller) than other women working Cons and I have a very “take no prisoners” attitude.
Question 16: Do you set yourself any deadlines or other tricks to keep yourself motivated?
I do set myself deadlines and I’m getting better at time management. Since I do so many Cons during the year, a lot of my time is spent organizing for those, i.e., travel arrangements, hotels, taxes, inventory, etc. Motivation has never been a problem for me. My husband calls me mono-polar manic.
Question 17: Apart from root beer, what is your favorite drink?
Iced Tea.
Question 18: Are you already a member of the root beer party and if not, what is the matter with you?
No, I am not. I’d love to join if I can drink another type of beverage.
Ch.%206%20pg.%204%20panel
Question 20: What are your future plans involving web comics or anything else going on in your life?
I hope to put together a trade next year of the six issues which will include something very special. (It’s a secret.). We are also working on funding 32 page one shots. And since the anthology (Boston Metaphysical Society: Prelude) is complete, I’m writing the first ever Boston Metaphysical Society novel. I’ve also had fans want an RPG, but one thing at a time.
Wow!  This is cutting edge stuff here True Believers.  We have never had a member who didn’t like root beer.  Well, she still meets the love of comics criteria so we will let it pass with an honorary membership.  Welcome to the party Madeline, and try the Butterscotch Root Beer, you will be very surprised by that one.  So raise your glass to the Boston Metaphysical Society and as always True Believers, may your mug always be frosted and your root beer always foamy.

 

Leave a Reply

